I Did It.

Last week I said that I was almost ready to become fully self-employed but all that was stopping me was fear.

So today, I did it. I had a chat with my boss, as I have no desire to leave her in the lurch, and I’ve arranged to leave in mid-January. Then it will be sink or swim!

My head is mashed now. I  have found it very difficult to keep up with my writing and editing commitments while also going to work two days a week, and the finances show me that I can live on my self-employment income now. I’ve been on the go since 6 am and it’s 5pm now and I’m not at the end of my to-do list. I realise I really have to give myself a chance to do this and follow the dream…

That’s it. It hasn’t sunk in yet. I am sure my last day will be very scary indeed. But for the moment… I’m in a daze.

  1. #1 by northernwalker on November 13, 2012 - 8:30 am

    I’ll second that…uplifitng indeed. All the very best.

    • #2 by autumnbarlow on November 15, 2012 - 9:13 am

      Thank you! Have started the count down in my diary now…

  2. #3 by Nimue Brown on November 10, 2012 - 3:46 pm

    Go you!

    • #4 by autumnbarlow on November 15, 2012 - 9:14 am

      Thank you! Take some credit… you started many balls rolling for me over the years. :-D

  3. #5 by gfenton on November 10, 2012 - 6:41 am

    Congratulations on moving your dream along a bit further.

    • #6 by autumnbarlow on November 10, 2012 - 11:14 am

      Thank you! I’m making the dream up as I go along.

  4. #7 by ophelia on November 9, 2012 - 10:47 pm

    woooo-hooooo!

    • #8 by autumnbarlow on November 10, 2012 - 11:14 am

      Mostly I’m “wooooo-hoooooo” but sometimes I am a little bit “OMG WTF”. But yeah, mostly WOOOO! Thank you!

  5. #9 by Phil on November 9, 2012 - 6:19 pm

    Well done and Good Luck. Follow the dream – if we get wiped out by a meteorite in February then at least you have the satisfaction of having gone for it.

    • #10 by autumnbarlow on November 10, 2012 - 11:13 am

      Thanks! Are there meteorites planned? I think there is talk that the world ends this December anyway, so perhaps I should bring my end date forward.

  6. #11 by Roy McCarthy on November 9, 2012 - 5:17 pm

    Uplifting news for a Friday. Congratulations and best of luck AB.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 88 other followers

