Slave To The Word Count

It’s been a busy few weeks, but I like it that way. I’ve learned that I have to plan ahead. At the end of the day, I plan the following day, in order of priority, and this means I can sleep well with a clear head.

It’s also immensely satisfying to cross big black lines through the tasks in my diary, and finish the day with a sea of scores and ticks. (I will confess to sometimes breaking down the tasks into unnecessarily small stages, just to be able to say “look at ALL those things I’ve done!”)

This month, out of interest, I’m also going to track my word counts.

So: the first week of March is over. I’m not counting this blog post, nor my blog posts for Top Hat Books (which you can find here).

Journalism: 2000 words article, written and submitted. 1000 word article, drafted, to be edited.

Erotica: 7000 word ebook written and uploaded. 5000 word ebook for loveyoudivine written and submitted for editing.

A Romance novel I’m working on: 2100 words.

7 days, 17,100 words. That’s not bad going!

I think it helps that I’m doing different things, not just writing. In this week I’ve also copy-edited a manuscript, done a readers’ report, and drunk a quantity of spiced rum. I don’t think I could sit and write the same thing, day after day. I have just read this short book  (2k to 10k: Writing Faster, Writing Better, and Writing More of What You Love) – free on Kindle at the moment, I’m not sure how long for, but it’s worth the regular price – and it does say some obvious yet useful things about word count. 10,000 words a day? I’ll let you know…

, ,

  1. #1 by authorangelachristinaarcher on March 10, 2013 - 1:40 pm

    I watch those pesky, little numbers on the bottom corner of the Word document far too much. lol. Good Luck!

    • #2 by autumnbarlow on March 15, 2013 - 11:26 am

      I know what you mean… it can get almost distracting!

  2. #3 by Peter Linfield on March 10, 2013 - 9:43 am

    17,100 words in a week, that’s really good going. I wish I could be so productive, if I make 3,500 words it’s a good week.

    The writing, “Crazy Brigade” are targeting a million words in a year, for that they need 19,231 words a week. You’re not so far off that yourself! Checkout their website. Some of their Blog stuff makes interesting reading. Also, look at their Spreadsheet under ‘Daily Words Count’. http://millionwordchallenge.wordpress.com/

    • #4 by autumnbarlow on March 15, 2013 - 11:25 am

      Thanks Peter! There is a school of thought that you don’t blossom as a writer until you’ve written a million words…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

