Sweet Historical Romance

thedukesdisguiseWell, so this is scary. I’ve been writing a lot of erotica since August, and though it is going well, I’ve been itching to write something longer and meatier. (No pun intended! stop sniggering at the back there!)

And The Duke’s Disguise is the result. I had intended it to be an erotic romance – a romantic novel with sexy scenes that drive the plot. However, the characters had other ideas! I was certain that I wanted it to be historically accurate, and my heroine, Ruby, turned out to be the sort of Victorian girl who wouldn’t have sex before marriage. Plenty did, of course – but not Ruby. She was quite adamant about that.

I was a bit worried about this, as most romance novels these days have at least one sex scene in them. Once I’d finished the first draft, I wondered whether to add a final chapter with the wedding night but I decided against it. It would be too obviously artificial. I did some research and apparently there is a market for romances like this: and they tend to be called “sweet”. Hence the title of this blog post!

It’s not a world-changing novel of grand ideas, but there is a subtle theme around family duty and responsibility, and the importance of learning to communicate. My aim has been to create a small slice of entertainment where the reader can step outside this world for a little while, and into another place of passion, intrigue and emotion.

It’s available on Amazon.com, Amazon.co.uk, Kobo, Barnes and Noble, and Apple.

  1. #1 by Sally Jenkins on May 3, 2013 - 12:30 pm

    I love the cover!

    • #2 by autumnbarlow on May 3, 2013 - 2:24 pm

      Thank you! Ahhh 3 years of art degree weren’t wasted then :-) Stock photography bought from 123rf.com, and fonts from dafont.com, and all done in the open source image editing software called Gimp.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

